Off-Premises Responsible Serving® of Alcohol
California Off-Premises Responsible Serving® of Alcohol Information
Click for Team Discounts
Click to get information about discounts if you need to train multiple team members.
Do you need to get your RBS Program, Respsonsible Beverage Server Certificate?
Earn your California RBS Program, Respsonsible Beverage Server Certificate (commonly called: "California bartender license") by completing the Responsible Serving® of Alcohol Course for California.
California Off-Premises Responsible Serving® of Alcohol Course Approval
The Rserving® Off-Premises Responsible Serving® of Alcohol course has been APPROVED as part of California's Responsible Beverage Server (RBS) program for alcohol server / seller training and certification in California. In order for licensees to be eligible to receive mitigated penalties, they must provide proof of successful completion of a certified California RBS training program by the involved server/seller at the time of the Notification of Violation interview. Such training must have been successfully completed prior to the date of violation(s) resulting in disciplinary action. This California alcohol server / seller training may also be required by local jurisdictions (counties and cities that have passed ordinances requiring server and seller training).
Employers receive discount pricing.
Receive your official PSCC Rserving Responsible Serving® of Alcohol Wallet Card for CA Responsible Serving® of Alcohol in the mail!
No Extra Charge!
After you complete the course, you are able to generate your printable certificate for CA Responsible Serving® of Alcohol immediately.
You will automatically receive your PSCC Rserving bartender's license / wallet card for CA in the mail within 15 days.
There is no additional cost to receive your bartender license / wallet card!
Do you need on-premises alcohol training instead?
Off-Premises Responsible Serving® Course:This course teaches clerks and managers responsible alcohol selling techniques in customer service industries:
or any off-premises sale businesses
Click the add to cart button below and proceed to the checkout to get signed up. You will be emailed a username/password to login and begin.
Off-Premises Responsible Serving® of Alcohol is also available through the following offer:
NOTICE: The current Rserving California Responsible Serving of Alcohol course can be used to obtain your Responsible Beverage Server (RBS) training certificate. However this course does not meet the requirements of under the upcoming Responsible Beverage Service Training Program Act (RBSTPA) standards. However for students that take our current training, we will provide "no charge" training for an updated course in 2020.
Sign up and take Rserving's training now and receive your certificate (which will be valid through 2020). Then, as soon as our new course has been approved by the California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control to meet the requirements of the Responsible Beverage Service Training Program Act (RBSTPA), students can complete our updated training course at no additional charge to receive your RBST certification (valid for an additional 3 years). The new training will comply with the new Responsible Beverage Service Training Program Act (RBSTPA) which requires all servers and managers to complete the new training effective July 1, 2021.
Related Courses for California:
What is the minimum age to sell/serve alcohol in California?
The minimum age to sell alcohol in California is 18 or supervised by a person at least 21
The minimum age to serve alcohol in California is 21 or 18 (bona fide public eating place)
The California Department of Alcoholic Beverage ControlThe agency that handles California liquor licensing and/or bartender licensing rules and regulations in California is The California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control. The contact information for The California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control is listed below. You can contact them to verify that online server certification (bartender license) can be obtained in California. We have also listed that information where applicable.
The California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Bartending License, RBS Program, Respsonsible Beverage Server Certificate regulations for sellers and servers in California
- CA Dram Shop Laws: Yes
- CA Happy Hour Laws: The State of California does not have state-wide Happy Hour Prohibitions. Such laws may exist in your city or county. Check with your local jurisdiction for any restrictions.
Can bartenders in CA work as a bartender with a felony conviction? yes
Yes. The state only regulates businesses as a whole and not bartenders or employees of businesses.